about

Antonia and Daniel travel from Konstanz, Germany to Yogyakarta, Indonesia by tandem.

why?

We feel wanderlust, love of adventure and the desire to discover the unknown. We want to engage in travelling, in being on the road, in discovering. We are curious and interested and want to get to know people and what moves them.

We love to share our experiences and little wanderwonder, which will occur to us on the trip. All these travel wonders you can find under tandemwonder.  

More about how the idea emerged and how the planned route runs.

We enlarge our travel thoughts by the the category  of wondering  and share things with you in which we are engaged besides cycling. These could be simple ideas for everyday´s life – short stories which made life easier and purer for us. Or thoughts, ideas and experiences which we tracked at the roadside and did not release us since then.

We invite you to take part in this wonders, to dip into distant worlds, conscious living and mind clouds.

Who are these two?

Antonia

Antonia loves Katoffelpuffer –  patties of grounded potato which are fried in a pan – very german AND very swiss. Generally spoken food is very important in her live. “La vida buena” – the good live sounds right in her ears and she would love to contribute a little, so that this is not reserved for her only.

It should also happen to the indonesian rain forest, to the german farmer who produces  milk, to the Pakistani, to the little boy from Ghana, to the women next door, to the remaining tuna, to the human being who lost its home, to her sisters, to the atmosphere, to a beautiful kind of octopus which lives near Australia and …to the earth itself.  

She is trying hart to find out what could help. She begins, she knocks it on the head, she struggles through, she falls, she stands up again, she is depressed, she thinks “It doesn´t pay” and goes on, she  always has this vision. A world which respects. Itself, others and even things that can´t ask for respect themselves.

Antonia studied “Asian Management” in Constance, Germany and Yogyakarte, Indonesia. She did her Masters in “Sustainability Economics and Management” at the Carl-von-Ossietzky university in Oldenburg, Germany. She helped to advance a wonderful association called Films for the Earth – brilliant and deep documentary films. Besides that she travelled a lot and co-founded the GemeinsamGarten,  a project in which refugees and german-speaking people garden together .

She loves the Black Forest, where her roots are as much as the big, wide world and is infinitely thankful for everything she was allowed to learn on this way.

Antonia´s tasks on the trip: to entertain you, to amuse you, to challenge you, to inform you, to baffle you and to provide you with pictures – so it is recommended  to subscribe to the blog.;) Besides that she is good in suggesting important breaks, in chating with totally strangers, in learning and speaking other languages and in looking into every single pot she can find and which looks as if it could contain food. 

 

Daniel loves sports. Biking, jogging, climbing, hiking, swimming, paddling, back gym, yoga – nothing is to difficult for him and he pursues his ambition with a caring determination. For everybody who assumes itself as an average athlete this circumstance can be kind of a challenge. However Daniel is anxious to push his sports buddies with sincere compliments to performances which they would never have considered possible.

In the time he is not spending with doing sports he is digging, picking, watering, puttering around in the garden and comes home with loads of vegetables from which he cooks mouthwatering (mostly Indian) dinners. With this he prevents successfully that Antonia dies by hunger doing all her projects.Free time is significant for Daniel and he takes the time for travelling, trips and hiking excursions with Antonia and/or friends. Since the end of his semi professional bike career (biggest success: winner of the C road race in Backnang, Germany) he manages to do this even more frequent. Fortunately he did not quit all bike ambitions as tandemwonder shows.

Free time is significant for Daniel and he takes the time for travelling, trips and hiking excursions with Antonia and/or friends. Since the end of his semi professional bike career (biggest success: winner of the C road race in Backnang, Germany) he manages to do this even more frequent. Fortunately he did not quit all bike ambitions as tandemwonder shows.

He studied computer science, bachelor´s and master´s degree at HTWG Konstanz, Germany and started to work with friends at their Start-up right away. At  Formigas GmbH he has enough scope and the task to develop apps. He is specialised in iOS and there is a ice machine in the company.

His tasks on the travel: power drive on steep rises, navigation, technical rubbish, being busy in keeping Antonia stuffed with food (before her „I am hungry monster“ appears) and keeping on telling by the slightest gleam of light between rain clouds: „Uhhh, it will be wonderful weather in a minute!“.

about

Antonia und Daniel reisen mit dem Tandem von Konstanz, Deutschland nach Yogyakarta, Indonesien.

Warum?

Wir haben Lust auf Abenteuer und darauf das Fremde zu entdecken. Wir wollen uns einlassen auf das Reisen, auf das Unterwegs sein, das Entdecken. Wir sind neugierig und interessiert und wollen Menschen und das, was sie bewegt kennenlernen.

Gerne möchten wir unsere Erfahrungen und kleinen Wanderwunder, die uns auf der Reise ereilen werden, teilen. All diese Reiswunder findet ihr unter tandemwonder.  

Mehr darüber, wie die Idee entstand und wie genau die geplante Route verläuft.

Mit der Kategorie wondering  erweitern wir unsere Reisegedanken und teilen  Dinge mit euch, die uns “sonst so” beschäftigen. Das können simple Ideen für den Alltag sein – kleine Geschichten, die das Leben für uns einfacher und echter gemacht haben. Oder Gedanken, Einfälle und Erfahrungen, die wir am Wegesrand aufgestöbert haben und die uns nicht mehr loslassen.

Wir laden euch ein an all diesen Wundern teil zu haben, einzutauchen in ferne Welten, bewusstes Leben und Gedankenwolken.

Wer sind diese beiden?

Antonia

Antonia liebt Kartoffelpuffer. Essen allgemein geniesst einen hohen Stellenwert in ihrem Dasein. Das gute Leben „la vida buena“ klingt für sie richtig und sie würde gerne alles dafür tun, das nicht nur ihr dieses widerfährt.

Sondern auch dem indonesischen Regenwald, dem deutschen Bauern, der die Milch macht, dem Pakistani, dem kleinen Jungen aus Ghana, der Frau von nebenan, dem Thunfisch, dem Menschen, der seine Heimat verloren hat, ihren Schwestern, der Atmosphäre, dem Schalloktopuss und eben…der Erde.

Dabei unternimmt sie allerlei Zeug, probiert aus, verwirft, beisst sich durch, fällt, steht wieder auf, ist deprimiert, bringt janichts, macht weiter und hat dabei immer diese Vision. Eine Welt, die (auf) sich achtet.

Antonia hat Asien Management in Konstanz und Yogyakarta und Sustainability Economics and Management in Oldenburg studiert, ein wenig mitgeholfen einen wunderbaren Verein namens Filme für die Erde  (der Name ist Programm) voranzubringen, war viel im Ausland und hat mit Freunden den GemeinsamGarten gegründet.

Sie liebt den Schwarzwald, dem sie entsprungen ist genauso wie die grosse weite Welt und ist unendlich dankbar für all das, was sie auf dem Weg lernen durfte.

Antonia´s Aufgaben während der Reise: euch unterhalten, belustigen, herausfordern, informieren, verwirren, mit Bildern versorgen und vollspamen (also schön den Blog abonnieren). Ausserdem ist sie gut darin für wichtige Pausen zu sorgen, andere Menschen anzuquatschen, Sprachen zu lernen und zu plappern und immer in alle Töpfe zu schauen, die irgendwo herumstehen und Essen enthalten könnten.

 

Daniel liebt Sport. „Radddfahrn“, joggen, klettern, bergsteigen, schwimmen, paddeln, Rückengymnastik, Yoga – nichts ist ihm zu schwer und sein Ehrgeiz lässt ihn all dies mit einer liebevollen Verbissenheit verfolgen. Für „Normalsportler“ ist dies manchmal eine Herausforderung. Allerdings ist Daniel immer darauf bedacht seine Sportbuddys lobend voranzupushen und sie so zu Leistungen anzuspornen, die diese niemals für möglich gehalten hätten.

Wenn er nicht gerade sportelt, gräbt, pflückt, giesst, werkelt er im Garten und bringt im Sommer so Unmengen von Gemüse nach Hause und auf den Tisch. Es wird dann lecker zu seinen – meist indischen- Spezialitäten verarbeitet und verhindert so erfolgreich, dass Antonia neben all ihren Projekten verhungert.

Freitzeit geniesst bei Daniel einen hohen Stellenwert und er nimmt sich gerne Zeit für Reisen, Ausflüge und Wandertrips mit Antonia und/ oder seinen Freunden. Dies gelingt ihm noch besser seit er seine Amateukarriere im Strassenradsport (grösster Erfolg: Sieg beim C-Rennen in Backnang) aufgegeben hat. Ganz vom Rad bekommt man ihn jedoch nicht, wie tandemwonder  beweist.

Studiert hat er Informatik, Bachelor und Master an der HTWG Konstanz und ist gleich nach dem Studium in das Start-up seiner Freunde eingestiegen. Bei der Formigas GmbH hat er neben genug Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten die Aufgabe Apps zu entwickeln. Er ist auf iOS spezialisiert. Und es gibt eine Eismaschine.

Seine Aufgaben während der Reise sind: Turbo-Antrieb bei steilen Steigungen, Navigation, technischer Firlefranz, Antonia immer genug zu essen geben (bevor sie sich in ein Unterzuckerungsmonster verwandelt) und bei jedem noch so kleinen Lichtschimmer zwischen Regenwolken voller Inbrunst und Überzeugung zu sagen: „Uhhh, jetzt reissts gleich auf!“